Think Kit Day 4: 2¢

I’m working my way through SmallBox’s Think Kit, folks! The fourth prompt is:

Whether you asked for it – or not – what good advice did you get this year? Did it come from an unexpected source? Was it unsolicited, or did you need a word or two after an eventful day, week, or month? Has the advice changed the way you think about the world? Changed the way you think about your advisor? Changed the way you think about yourself? Changed the way you act? Can you distill the message and help the rest of us out, or is it too personal to be universal?

The most inspiring piece of advice I received this year didn’t come to me directly. It was shared at a running camp and I came across it through social media. The lovely and honest Lauren Fleshman shared this gem with camp attendees:

The best gift you can give yourself is to disregard what other people see as success and name it for yourself.

Whoa. Now that is something I needed to hear, especially this year. I’ve changed teams at work, struggled with comparing my marriage to others’, and tried to overcome stagnation in running and racing. All of that left me with the worry that my choices weren’t the right ones. But Lauren’s little nugget of advice slapped me across the face and made me realize that there are no “right” choices, at least not in that sense. It doesn’t matter what my life looks like to other people, what path my career takes, or whether I can get that damn half-marathon time under 1:25. What does matter, and what I hereby name as success for myself, is that I live a life that makes me happy and, in turn, makes others happy (most importantly: my husband, family, and friends). Here’s to success, whatever that means for you.

 
2
Kudos
 
2
Kudos

Now read this

Saying Yes

As 2016 turned to 2017, I reflected on the past year as I always do, and I thought of how much I learned and accomplished that hadn’t even entered my mind as a possibility a year earlier - rock climbing, ultrarunning, backpacking,... Continue →